Real Life Barbie Doll

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

The Huffington Post has an article written by Hamilton College student, Galia Slayen,  who built a Barbie true to her human-sized proportions.  Heres how she describes the inspiration behind creating a life sized Barbie:

In January 2007, I was looking for a way to make my peers realize the importance of eating disorders and body image issues. I was frustrated after quitting the cheerleading squad, frustrated with pressures to look and act a certain way and most of all frustrated with the eating disorder controlling my life. I wanted to do something that would turn others’ apathy into action. That evening, my neighbor and I found two long pieces of wood and started measuring.

Today, Galia uses the Barbie as part of Hamilton College’s National Eating Disorders Awareness Week (NEDAW) programming. She says, “My Barbie’s role is simple. She grabs the attention of apathetic onlookers and makes them think and talk about an issue that thrives in silence. In the last four years, [my] Barbie has surpassed my expectations, attracting attention and sparking conversation among listeners and readers across the nation.”

For more on how Galia made her Barbie (and a picture of her with her Barbie) and some “Get Real Barbie Statistics” check out her article at the Huffington Post.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Real Life Barbie Doll at Georgia Tech Women's Resource Center.

meta

