Lara Logan Breaks the Silence

May 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

In case you missed it last night, CBS News correspondent Lara Logan, spoke out in depth about the sustained sexual assault she endured while covering the Egyptian revolution in February. Logan is well known for her courageous reports on often dangerous and important foreign news stories and in particular, her coverage of war.  Although many have participated in victim blaming since she originally came forward and reported the attacks, claiming that as a woman, she never should have been in Egypt during an uprising, she has remained incredibly brave and has been determined to tell her story.

Here are some highlights:

On what she believes saved her life:

(CBS News)  It was a fight she endured about 25 minutes.

Logan: I was no doubt in my mind that I was in the process of dying. I thought, not only am I gonna die here, but it’s gonna be just a torturous death that’s going to go on forever and ever and ever.

Lara was dragged along by the mob until they were stopped by a fence. At that spot, a group of Egyptian women were camped out.

Logan: And I almost fell into the lap of this woman on the ground who was head to toe in black, just her eyes, I remember just her eyes, I could see.

Pelley: Wearing a chador.

Logan: Yes. And she put her arms around me. And oh my God, I can’t tell you what that moment was like for me. I wasn’t safe yet, because the mob was still trying to get at me. But now it wasn’t just about me anymore. It was about their women and that was what saved me, I think. The women kind of closed ranks around me. And I remember one or two, maybe three men standing with them and throwing, the women were throwing water in the crowd. And they were pouring water over me, ’cause I couldn’t breathe.

On why she is telling her story and what her female colleagues said to her after she came forward about the assault:

Pelley(interviewer): Why are you telling this story now?

Logan: One thing that I am extremely proud of that I didn’t intend is when my female colleagues stood up and said that I’d broken the silence on what all of us have experienced but never talk about.

Pelley: What did they mean by that?

Logan: That women never complain about incidents of sexual violence because you don’t want someone to say, “Well women shouldn’t be out there.” But I think there are a lot of women who experience these kinds of things as journalists and they don’t want it to stop their job because they do it for the same reasons as me – they are committed to what they do. They are not adrenaline junkies you know, they’re not glory hounds, they do it because they believe in being journalists.

For more:

See 60 Minutes and 60 Minutes Overtime

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lara Logan Breaks the Silence at Georgia Tech Women's Resource Center.

meta

