Welcome Back!

August 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s hard to believe that we are more than half way through our first week of the Fall Semester! Campus is buzzing with new faces and new opportunities, and I love it. What about you?

Here are three things I hope you will do in the weeks ahead:

  1. Yesterday I asked my GT1000 class to write a letter to themselves (an idea I got from my colleague, Stephanie Knight). I asked them to consider what they were feeling anxious, excited, scared, or hopeful about and to think about goals or things they hope to accomplish this year or in their time here at Tech.                                                                                                                                                I like this exercise for a lot of different reasons, but mostly, I hope my students will take away from it an understanding of the importance of articulating and reflecting on what they hope for, are a little scared about, or need. I think it’s a good exercise for us all, before we get mired in the day to day- the homework, the programs, the tests, the committees, and so on and so forth. I challenge you to do this exercise today. Write it all out, dream a little and be honest with yourself about your fears, and then tuck the letter away in your desk, in your journal, or wherever it will be safe and you’re likely to be able to locate it in May.  I think you’ll be surprised by the results.
  2. This morning, I read a great blog post written by one of my former professors. She created a list of 10 academic survival tips and things she wished she had known. The list is intended for women of color who are graduate students or professors- a group of women who face racism, sexism, and a whole host of microagressions and discrimination in academics. If you are one of these women, I urge you to check out her post. If you aren’t one of these women, I urge you to check out her post and be aware, glean some insight, be an ally, and take her strategies for survival to heart for yourself as well. Her frankness and sage advice is refreshing.
  3. Attend one of the Welcome Receptions for women at Georgia Tech. Come meet other women and start building your circle of support.  Oh, and don’t forget to invite other women you know.  We’ve got something for everybody, whether your a faculty/staff member or an undergraduate or graduate student. For more information or to RSVP (although you can always just show up) go to our website. And, did I mention we’ll have cheesecake at all of them? Seriously, we love cheesecake.

And while not on my official list of things for you to do, I hope you’ll stop by the WRC as well. We’d love to see you and  introduce you to our graduate assistant, Lesley (yay!) and our new student staff members.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Welcome Back! at Georgia Tech Women's Resource Center.

meta

