Reigning Comedy Queen(s)

September 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Did you guys sees this? For the record, I didn’t watch the Emmy’s last night, in fact, I didn’t even know they were on, but this morning when I saw this, I smiled. And, just between you and me, I might have cried a little too.

(Kevin Winter - GETTY IMAGES)

There are a lot of  things I love about this.  Mostly, that Melissa McCarthy (who I adored on Gilmore Girls, long before her Bridesmaids fame) won for her hilarious portrayal of Molly on the sitcom Mike and Molly and that when she won the other women nominated for best female lead in a comedy series all looked genuinely thrilled for her. I love it when we get to see women supporting each other and I especially love it when it’s a situation where they were competing against one another.

One other note, you might be wondering why Melissa McCarthy is done up like a pageant queen with roses and tiara. Well, it was all orchestrated by Amy Poehler, who thought it would be funny (and also a little tongue-in-cheek, I imagine) to treat the nominations as a pageant spoof. As each woman’s name was read, they were to stand up and gleefully make their way to the stage where they would join hands with one another.  Super funny, just like each of these women.

Click here to see the whole clip of the pageant spoof and McCarthy’s humble, shocked acceptance speech.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reigning Comedy Queen(s) at Georgia Tech Women's Resource Center.

meta

