I <3 Tina Fey

January 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler
Credit: Paul Drinkwater/NBCUniversal via Getty

Last night I tuned into the Golden Globes. I was mostly looking forward to seeing all of the dressed up celebrities, the winning films, shows, and actors/actresses, and of course Tina Fey and Amy Poehler hosting the evening, and to get some laughs out of the few hours. I have loved Tina Fey since she was on SNL and would tune in just to see her on Weekend Update. She was brilliant in Mean Girls, I thought her autobiography Bossypants was fantastic, and I catch her in 30 Rock nearly every week (as well as watching past seasons on Netflix). So I was really excited to see her on the Golden Globes, and was expecting nothing less than awesome from them. What I didn’t expect to get, however, was an increased respect for Tina Fey (and Amy Poehler).

We know that girls bullying other girls is a big problem in this country, and often that catty behavior transfers into adulthood and the workplace. I found a Scientific American article about a study that found women were “overwhelmingly compelled to retaliate by attacking the offender’s reputation, mostly through gossip.” Tina Fey famously and hilariously tackled that issue in Mean Girls; and in her own way, she stood up against the same issue last night at the Golden Globes.

This morning when I came into the WRC, I stumbled upon an article on the Huffington Post, recapping the Golden Globes, Jodie Foster’s speech following receiving the Cecil B DeMille award, and the witty method of Tina and Amy’s humor in hosting the event. They could have gone the way of many past hosts and been malicious in their humor, or cliché. They could have made fun of the other actresses and the stupid things that they had done. Instead, they were sympathetic in their jokes, laughing about the things they had gone through. For example, “They noted that Meryl Streep couldn’t attend because she had the flu … though they heard she was “amazing in it” — the flu, that is.”

What most impresses me about all of this, and what inspired me to therefore write a blog about it, was just how much Tina Fey seems to really “walk the walk,” not just “talk the talk.” I think she is a great role model, and someone that everyone, especially women, can look up to.

– Melissa G.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I <3 Tina Fey at Georgia Tech Women's Resource Center.

meta

