The Real Fixer

January 24, 2013 § Leave a comment

ABC's "Scandal" - Season Two

As a true TV fanatic, I have found several shows that have interested me over the years. I watch everything from drama to comedy, kid shows to adult shows. But there is one show that has completely caught my attention. ABC’s hit show Scandal has become one of my favorites.

Scandal is a show in which the main character, Olivia Pope, is a professional “fixer.” Clients, normally politicians or celebrities, come to her when they have a problem, such as a scandal, and then she fixes it. Pope opened her own firm for crisis management after she quit working in the White House with the president.  She has her own team, most of which have their own problems to deal with. You find that al

most everyone has their own secret/is caught up in their own scandal including Ms. Pope herself.

There are two main reasons why I truly enjoy this show. The first reason is Kerry Washington. Kerry Washington has become one of my favorite actresses. I started to somewhat follow her career after I saw her in The Fantastic Four. On Scandal, Washington plays a strong, powerful, beautiful woman. For me that combination is a rarity on TV, though,  I will admit to seeing some, but there are not that many. I have to commend her for her skills in playing this character. She portrays Olivia Pope very well. When I look at the show I see a woman who is confident, ready to help her clients, and knows what to do and when to do it. Washington’s character is not without her own faults which makes her a little bit more real. Olivia Pope is a woman who is strong, but can also be vulnerable especially where her love interest is concerned. She is someone who will show her support for others, but will also show you what is right and how things are supposed to be done. I do have drawbacks to the character where her scandal(s) are concerned but who wouldn’t.

I absolutely love Kerry Washington and she has totally made this show for me. When Kerry Washington is not playing Olivia Pope, I am still drawn to her. Though I do not know her personally, I like to believe that she is as nice and sweet as she appears in other settings. I can’t wait

to cont

inue to watch her career grow because I believe that she is going places.

The other reason this show is one of my favorites is because there is a real fixer like Olivia Pope that this show is based on. It has actually just recently come to my attention that there was someone out there who is known as a fixer. Her name is Judy Smith. Smith is now claimed as America’s number one crisis management expert. I am truly astounded by Ms. Smith. She is a true inspiration. Smith cliental includes Michael Vick, Monica Lewinsky, and so many more. She has been working as a consultant for her clients for over 25 years. Just doing this job alone is something to be proud of let alone for doing it for over 25 years. To me, Judy is a truly phenomenal woman.

I acknowledge both Kerry Washington and Judy Smith as true inspirations. If you haven’t heard of the show or would like to see it for yourself I encourage you to watch it. It ma

y not be your cup of tea but I think it’s worth the try.

For more info on Judy Smith you can visit:

www.judysmith.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Real Fixer at Georgia Tech Women's Resource Center.

meta

