3rd Annual MLK Day of Service

January 28, 2013 § Leave a comment

Image

MLK Day of service is a day to reflect on the life, legacy, and teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The impact that he created for generations to come in the fight for civil rights will forever reverberate in our hearts and minds. While many of us participated in other activities like watching the annual MLK commemoration service at Ebenezer Baptist Church or watching the inauguration of America’s first African-American Commander in Chief, others like myself went out to volunteer in our local communities. I went to volunteer at the Center for the Pan-Asian Community Services(CPACS).

The day started out with a small presentation from the MLK Planning Committee. This was a great way to reflect on how Dr. King has personally impacted our lives. Next we did a short networking activity. After that, we headed out with our groups to volunteer!  So I thought that I would be doing in-door volunteer work (i.e. carpet cleaning), but instead I got a chance to plant trees. This was one of the few days that I allowed myself to do free manual labor, but I had a great time. I got a chance to meet new people and to make a different in my community. I even got a chance to hear some of the inauguration on the bus back to Georgia Tech!

As I reflect back on that day, I will always see MLK Day as a day ON and not a day OFF.   What I loved about that day was seeing the faces of so many undergraduate students. I saw people from all different ethnic backgrounds, skin colors, heights, classes, socioeconomic statuses, etc. Seeing these students is living proof that without the work of activists like Dr. King, these students and myself would not be able to attend such a diverse school like Georgia Tech. After 52 years of the matriculation of African-American students into Georgia Tech, and after 51 years of the integration of women, Georgia Tech continues to strive for excellence, inclusion, and diversity, all of the values that Dr. King himself believed in.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 3rd Annual MLK Day of Service at Georgia Tech Women's Resource Center.

meta

