My Favorite Part of the Semester – GT1000 Guest Post #7

December 6, 2013 § Leave a comment

This semester, the GT Women’s Resource Center is teaching a section of GT 1000, Georgia Tech’s freshman seminar class. As part of our class, we are having each of our students contribute a blog post. The following post is one student’s reflecting on her favorite part of the semester.

——-

Over the course of this semester, I’ve really enjoyed GT 1000 because it’s given me an opportunity to learn more about Georgia Tech and develop the skills I need to succeed during my time at college and beyond. It’s hard to pinpoint the part of the course I enjoyed the most, but if I had to decide, I would have to say that my favorite part of the course was learning how to create a cover letter and a resume.

Prior to taking GT 1000, I had very little idea about how to construct a cover letter let alone a resume. I was most excited for this portion of the course because I wanted to learn how to showcase my skills as briefly and effectively as possible. I believe that knowing how to create both a cover letter and a resume is an invaluable skill. Whenever you apply for a job, you need to be able to concisely and effectively convey the skills you possess to your potential employer. With so many applicants for job positions, it’s really important to make a good first impression and communicate to your potential employer that you’re the best, and most qualified, candidate for the job.

I particularly enjoyed learning about what specifically goes into a resume and how it’s structured. Initially, I had a vague idea about what kinds of information went into a resume, but I wasn’t entirely sure what the most important things were to include and how it should be ordered. For instance, during our resume writing workshop, I learned that arranging your achievements chronologically was the most logical way to put together your resume. Ultimately, one of the most valuable things that I learnt through creating this is how to communicate your message as clearly and succinctly as possible. With such a small amount of space, it’s extremely important to be able to pick out the most important details, in other words your best assets, in order to gain the attention of potential employers. This is such an important skill because it shows people that you are not only able to identify the most important points, but you’re able to communicate them effectively. Thus the skills I gained in learning how to create my resume can not only be applied in the context of this assignment, but also in my school work and life in general.

When I enter the workforce, I want to maximize my chances of getting the job or internship of my choice. As a result, I really enjoyed learning how to create a resume that would help me to be a competitive applicant irrespective of what job I choose to apply to.

– Dhanushka V.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Favorite Part of the Semester – GT1000 Guest Post #7 at Georgia Tech Women's Resource Center.

meta

